To Friends, Family, and Potential Students

I’m not sure what in hell is so difficult to understand about this: I’m trying to set up Great Books classes for groups of 5-10 people at a time, to be conducted via Google Hangouts. This is how I intend to make a living. I did not quit when the first people bailed on me in the last week before summer; and I will continue to pursue it until I get to my goal, using failure as an opportunity to spring to success.

So if I’ve told you this, please DO NOT ASK ME WHAT I INTEND TO DO FOR A LIVING. I’ve already answered this question, and you weren’t listening. And that means you’ve wasted some of my time, and I need all of it to set this thing up! It’s incredibly disrespectful to me and is not at all fair. Just like people saying they’d “definitely” study this summer and not doing so. And just like all those people who said they’d buy my book when I wrote one and never did.

Each student to me is $1800 per year. That’s a big deal to me and probably less of a big deal to many families whose kids would benefit. When I ask you to help me find students, I mean seriously to tell people on an individual level that the best classical scholar–maybe EVER–is offering to teach these classes and that they will change lives.  There is no reason I should not be able to get to 100 students very easily.  The courses are convenient, I am bringing all of this to my students, and most of the books are free on books.google.com so the only cost is my labor.  This is an absolute NO-BRAINER for any student of decent intelligence.

I turn 26 next May and cannot continue on my mother’s health insurance plan.  I’m a Type 1 Diabetic and need a good plan.  Please help me to get to my goal.

Leave a Reply

